In this article:
- Are Samsara and Motive ELDs registered with FMCSA?
- Is KeepTruckin the same as Motive?
- ELD and hours of service features compared
- Hardware and the driver app
- Dash cams compared
- How Samsara and Motive are sold
- Which is cheaper, Samsara or Motive?
- Is Samsara better than Motive?
- Questions to ask both vendors before you sign
- Next steps
Samsara vs Motive is a close match on paper. As of October 2026, both sell an electronic logging device (ELD) that is on FMCSA's registered list. Each is built on a vehicle gateway that plugs into the truck's diagnostic port, with a driver app, AI dash cams and a fleet dashboard. Neither publishes a price. The differences are in packaging and stated features.
The comparison below uses only each vendor's own pages and FMCSA's ELD list, all opened on October 20, 2026.
Samsara vs Motive at a glance (as of October 2026)
| Samsara | Motive | |
|---|---|---|
| On FMCSA's registered ELD list | Yes: "Samsara ELD", model VG, identifier SAMELD | Yes: "Motive ELD", model "LBB-1 and higher", identifier MOTIVE |
| ELD hardware | Vehicle Gateway in the diagnostic port | Vehicle Gateway in the diagnostic port |
| Driver app | Samsara Driver App, iOS and Android | Motive Driver App, Android 10.0+ and iOS 12.0+ |
| Roadside data transfer | Telematic: web services and email (FMCSA list) | Web services and email, plus an in-app display (Motive's FMCSA entry) |
| Dash cams | Front-facing and dual-facing AI Dash Cams, AI Multicam | Road-facing and dual-facing AI Dashcam, AI Omnicam |
| Published prices | None | None |
| How you get a price | Sizing form and sales contact | Pricing link goes to a contact page |
Are Samsara and Motive ELDs registered with FMCSA?
Yes, both were on the list when we checked on October 20, 2026. That matters because a carrier that must use an ELD "must use only an ELD that is listed on" FMCSA's registered ELDs list (49 CFR 395.22(a)). The rule is final and in force as of October 2026.
You can check any device yourself in a few minutes:
- Open FMCSA's ELD list and stay on the Registered ELDs tab.
- Search for the device name or the company.
- Match three fields to what the vendor will install: model number, software version and ELD identifier. On October 20, 2026, Samsara's entry read model VG, software 2430.101+, identifier SAMELD. A second entry, "Samsara ELD for International Trucks", read model N2, identifier SAMNI1. Motive's entry read model "LBB-1 and higher", software "41.0 and higher", identifier MOTIVE.
- Open the Revoked ELDs tab and confirm the device and version are not there. Neither company appeared on it that day. (One self-revoked entry named "Keep Truckin" was listed under a different company, not Motive Technologies.)
Registration is self-certification. FMCSA's list says the devices "are self-certified by the manufacturer" and that FMCSA "does not endorse any electronic logging devices." Samsara's ELD page calls its product "FMCSA-registered and third-party certified" and says it "has been FMCSA-registered since 2017." Motive's ELD page also calls its ELD "FMCSA-registered." Those are the vendors' own statements.
Registration can be lost. FMCSA can remove a device that fails the technical specifications, after a notice and a 30-day response window (Appendix A to Subpart B of Part 395, section 5.4). In its August 2026 revocations, FMCSA gave carriers up to 60 days to replace the removed devices, as FleetOwner reported on August 7, 2026. Re-check the list before you renew any ELD contract.
Is KeepTruckin the same as Motive?
Yes. KeepTruckin "announced Tuesday it is relaunching as Motive," FreightWaves reported on April 12, 2022. Motive's ELD page says the Motive and KeepTruckin ELD products are the same product under new branding. A search for "Samsara vs KeepTruckin" is the same comparison as this one. FMCSA's list now names the device "Motive ELD" from Motive Technologies, Inc.
The Off Duty Brief
Get FMCSA hours-of-service rule changes the week they're final.
Plus one practical guide a month. Free, and one click to leave.
ELD and hours of service features compared
Both products have to meet the same federal technical specification, so the legal core is identical. What differs is the software around it. This table lists only features each vendor names on its own ELD page, as of October 2026.
| Stated feature | Samsara | Motive |
|---|---|---|
| Hours of service (HOS) clocks | Countdown clocks and real-time alerts | HOS countdown clocks and proactive alerts in the driver app |
| Rule sets | "Automatic rulesets" that update with the driver's GPS location | Multiple HOS cycle rules |
| Unassigned driving | AI-powered annotations and geofencing for yard moves and unassigned HOS | Unidentified driving detection, with "Smart Trip Match" suggesting the driver |
| Roadside inspection | Inspection Mode to display and transfer records | Transfer by web services or email |
| Driver vehicle inspection reports (DVIR) | Digital DVIRs integrated with HOS logs | DVIR and HOS in the same solution |
| Office tools | Real-time compliance dashboard; log review, editing and certification | Compliance Hub with violation breakdowns and cycle trends; forecasted CSA scores |
| Special driving categories | Yard moves handled through annotations and geofencing | Personal Conveyance and Yard Move, once a fleet manager enables them |
| Team driving | Not stated | Up to nine co-drivers on one device |
Two features on that list are set by the carrier under the rule, not by the vendor. A carrier "may configure an ELD" to let drivers select authorized personal use and yard moves (49 CFR 395.28(a)). The policy behind personal conveyance is in our personal conveyance guide, and the limits the clocks count down are in our hours of service rules guide.
Hardware and the driver app
The hardware story is similar, with a few stated differences.
Samsara. The Vehicle Gateway plugs into the diagnostic port, and Samsara says installation takes "only a few minutes." The gateway has a built-in WiFi hotspot that keeps driver devices connected where cellular coverage drops. The Samsara Driver App runs on supported iOS and Android devices, and Samsara's FAQ says the app is free.
Motive. The Vehicle Gateway connects to standard 9-pin, 6-pin and OBDII ports. Motive offers a special cable for model year 2013 and newer Mack or Volvo trucks. Motive says the gateway and Driver App can be used offline and sync when they reconnect. It also says drivers who use the gateway to meet the U.S. ELD rule "must always ensure that they have an active internet connection," and it recommends a cellular data plan. Motive says the app used alone works as an editable electronic logbook.
One point on that last feature. Under the federal specification, an ELD must be "integrally synchronized with the engine" (Appendix A, section 4.2). An app with no engine connection fits drivers who are allowed to record duty status manually, such as those covered by an ELD exemption. It is not a substitute for the gateway on trucks that need an ELD.
Roadside transfer. The rule lets an ELD meet the roadside requirement two ways. Option 1 is telematics (wireless web services and email). Option 2 is local (USB and Bluetooth) (Appendix A, section 4.9.1). Both vendors list Option 1. Either way, the ELD must also show the current day and the previous 7 days on a display or printout.
Dash cams compared
Both vendors sell AI dash cams alongside the ELD. These are the facts each states on its camera page, as of October 2026.
| Samsara (cameras page) | Motive (AI Dashcam page) | |
|---|---|---|
| Camera options | Dual-facing and front-facing AI Dash Cams; AI Multicam; fisheye auxiliary camera; 360-degree bundle | Road-facing and dual-facing AI Dashcam; AI Omnicam for side, rear, passenger and cargo views |
| Behaviors listed | Forward collision warning, lane departure, tailgating, mobile usage, drowsiness ("17+ fatigue indicators"), speeding, harsh driving, rolling stops, seat belt, smoking, eating or drinking, obstructed camera, railroad crossing | Close following, mobile device use, hard braking, hard cornering, hard acceleration, seat belt violations |
| In-cab alerts | Alerts that let drivers "self-coach before a safety event is sent to a manager" | In-cab audio and visual alerts |
| Stored video | "Up to 746 hours of configurable storage" | Footage from the past 30 to 235 hours |
| Driver privacy | Not detailed on the page | Driver Privacy Mode turns off the driver-facing camera; drivers are alerted when a live stream starts and ends |
Feature lists on marketing pages change often. Ask each vendor for the current spec sheet for the exact camera model you would buy. Our planned dash cam comparison for fleets covers more vendors.
How Samsara and Motive are sold
Neither vendor publishes a price, so every number you see elsewhere is somebody's estimate, not the vendor's.
- Samsara. The pricing page shows no dollar amounts. It asks "How many vehicles or assets do you have?" with ranges from 1-5 up to 5,000+. The plans page names packages such as Telematics Premier, Telematics Enterprise, Safety Premier and Safety Enterprise, each with a "Get pricing" button.
- Motive. The pricing link sends you to a contact page titled "Motive Pricing | ELD | Dash Cam | Motive", with no prices on it. The ELD page offers a sales contact.
- Contracts. Neither vendor's pages above state a contract length, renewal term or cancellation term.
Which is cheaper, Samsara or Motive?
From public facts, nobody can say. Neither publishes a price, and we don't repeat third-party estimates as if the vendor had stated them. The fair way to compare is to get written quotes for the same thing from both: the same number of trucks, the same camera setup, the same contract length, with hardware, installation and renewal terms spelled out. The question bank below is built for that.
Is Samsara better than Motive?
Neither is better across the board. Based on what each vendor says it is built for:
- Samsara fits fleets that want the ELD as one part of a wider "Connected Operations Platform", with separate telematics, safety and equipment-tracking packages, and a WiFi hotspot in the truck for driver devices.
- Motive fits fleets that want HOS logs and DVIR in one compliance product, a driver app that can also run alone as a logbook for drivers outside the ELD rule, and gateway cables for 2013 and newer Mack and Volvo trucks.
- Both fit fleets that want a registered ELD and AI dash cams from one vendor, sold through a sales quote.
If you run a handful of trucks and mainly need compliance, also look at devices with published prices in our list of the best ELD for small fleets.
Questions to ask both vendors before you sign
Use the same questions with each vendor and get the answers in writing. Each ties to a rule or to a term neither public page answers.
| # | Question | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Which model, software version and ELD identifier will we receive? | It must match a Registered ELDs entry (395.22(a)) |
| 2 | Which roadside transfer option does it support, and what does the driver tap? | Option 1 or 2 under Appendix A, section 4.9.1; the transfer uses a single-step driver interface |
| 3 | If FMCSA revokes this device, what do you replace, at whose cost, and how fast? After the August 2026 revocations, carriers had up to 60 days | |
| 4 | How do you support us through a malfunction? | The carrier must act to correct a malfunction within 8 days (395.34(d)) |
| 5 | How do we keep a 6-month backup on a separate device? | Required by 395.22(i) |
| 6 | Can we export all our records if we switch vendors? | Carriers must keep records of duty status for 6 months |
| 7 | What is the contract length, renewal and cancellation term? | Not stated on either public page |
| 8 | Are ELD, cameras and telematics priced separately? | Packages differ by vendor |
| 9 | Do we buy, lease or rent the hardware, and who owns it at the end? | Not stated on either public page |
| 10 | Which phones or tablets are supported, and what mount do you supply? | A portable ELD must be mounted in a fixed position, visible from the seat (395.22(g)) |
For the full checklist that applies to any vendor, see how to choose an ELD.
Next steps
Shortlist on what you need, confirm both devices on FMCSA's list the week you sign, and compare written quotes line by line.
Off Duty Not Driving Rewards is a rewards program for trucking fleets. Contact our team to learn more.
This article is general information, not legal advice. Confirm requirements against the current regulation text and with your compliance counsel.
The Off Duty Brief
FMCSA rule-change alerts plus one practical guide a month, for fleet safety and retention.
Checked against the regulation text before it goes out. One click to unsubscribe.
